Warbler Identification? Seen at De Soto Park, FL, May, 2012

These photos were taken May, 2012 during spring migration, at Fort De Soto County Park, Pinellas County, Florida.  Can you help me identify this warbler?  -SLB

6 responses to “Warbler Identification? Seen at De Soto Park, FL, May, 2012

  1. Without checking my range maps, I am pretty sure it is a Blue-grey Gnatcatcher; nice shots! 🙂

  2. It looks like a vireo, maybe Warbling (or Philadelphia)? Hope this helps…

  3. Wouldn’t a BGG have a much longer tail, which tends to be cocked up? I also notice the eyering is broken in two halves and that there seems to be a touch of yellow on the flanks and a bit of yellow-green on the back. But I could be wrong…

  4. Male Tennessee Warbler.

  5. Oh… should have looked at the book before offering that ID… sorry SLB. 😕
    Pierre, you are right; the eye ring is a dead giveaway that it is not BGG. I thought I saw the yellowish wash too, but the more I looked, I started to wonder if that wasn’t just a trick of the foliage.

  6. I thought it might be a Vireo. Then, after your comments, I checked my guides again and I definitely agree with Victor. Thanks. Funny, but I had ID’ed a Tennessee Warbler correctly that I saw in a different place. Maybe it was the same one who moved, maybe a different one. I put a pic (in the slideshow) of the one I’d gotten correct in my collection.