What kind of duck is this?

Hell0 again! The following birds were taken a couple of days ago (August 2, 2012) at Lost Lake in Whistler, BC, Canada. My best guess is that these are juvenile Mergansers, either Hooded or Common. Any guesses as to which of the two? Perhaps you think I’m completely wrong? Your suggestions would be welcome!

Unmodified photo of three juvenile Mergansers (Hooded or Common)?

Modified version of a photo of three juvenile Mergansers (Hooded or Common)? Taken on August 2, 2012 at Lost Lake, Whistler, BC, Canada.

3 responses to “What kind of duck is this?

  1. vbirdrules1222

    Pretty sure their Hooded.

  2. I’m going to say that they’re Hooded Mergansers, which happens to be my favorite duck.

  3. Yes, I would have to agree with both of you, especially since I can see the start of the “hood” on these ducks.