What kind of Hawk is this, Cooper’s or Sharp-shinned?

Hello all, turning to a raptor, now, can anyone tell me what bird is on these two photos, which represent the same individual?

I believe this is either a Cooper’s or a Sharp-shinned Hawk (with a preference for Cooper’s, because of the rounded tail), but I would appreciate your input on this one, especially if you think it is something else entirely.

The photos were taken in the second half of December 2011, in a fairly large urban park in North Vancouver, BC, Canada.

5 responses to “What kind of Hawk is this, Cooper’s or Sharp-shinned?

  1. I say Cooper’s. Relatively big head, light nape, sturdier legs.

  2. Commenting again in order to check the notify box again. Since SLB’s fix, I’m finally starting to receive confirmation emails for notification checks. (Way to go, SLB!)

  3. Yes, your comments tend to confirm my thoughts on the issue — this bird seemed a bit too “big” to be a Sharpie.

  4. I agree with Cooper’s, note the red eye also.

  5. Cooper’s….mainly because it appears to be quite chunky with a large head…. the Sharpie is more slender and it’s head is smaller. The Sharpie has a square tail with all feathers about the same length, while this one’s tail appears to be rounded like a Cooper’s. I believe both the Sharpie and the Cooper’s adults have red eyes, while the immature of both have yellow eyes. All in all, though, adults of both species are tough!