Those Empids…

Ok, one of the hardest birds for me to ID…  Here’s a challenge. 🙂

These four photos were taken last October in Palm Bay (east central), FL.  Migration was in full swing at the time (evident to me by the number of warblers I also saw that day).  I am going to separate these into two sets though.  I don’t know if all four photos represent the same bird, but I know that there are two each representing possibly two birds.

Set 1:

Image

Image

Set 2:

Image

Image

Unfortunately both sets only offer one view of the bird in question, so they may be tough IDs, but if anyone has any ideas, they would be well appreciated!

Thanks! 🙂

4 responses to “Those Empids…

  1. Subscribing

  2. I’m hopeless at Empids (I’m not even sure it is limited to them – might it not be a pewee?) anyway, I don’t think you’re going to be able to get a definitive ID from those pictures (or just from pictures), but certainly not from me. I don’t even bother to try to ID my own now (not that I ever see them – well, very infrequently). The second bird (set) just looks like a Phoebe to me.

  3. If I may, these particular birds are essentially impossible to tell apart, even by experts, unless you hear them (this is the best way) or if their range and habitat are so particular that only one species remain. I wish I could be more helpful, but I can’t! Good luck…

  4. I am leaning to Pheobe on the 2cnd set also, but agree the best Id for these birds are the vocals.