What kind of bird – similar or same bird

If the duck in the first posting of the white bird with the orange beak and feet has a cowlick then it is a different species than this duck?  -SLB

2012_03_23 Pasadena Lake, FL

6 responses to “What kind of bird – similar or same bird

  1. I’m not really up on domestic ducks (to say the least!) but do know that they’re mostly breeds of the same species, not different species. Except for the muscovy, for example.

    • Thinking about it, your comment makes a lot of sense, Diane. It’s like domestic cats or dogs being the same species, but different breeds. Except for my dog who acts as though he is of a superior species consisting of one animal, himself. On one of his more treat-laden days, he might admit to being quite distantly related to canines. lol
      Did you also note the Sept 30 What Kind of Bird post? That’s what I was referring to, here in this post.
      Let’s see what DaLo has to say about this development in our ID discussion.

  2. Yes, I saw the cute little duckie with the crest! 😀 Sorry for being more a lurker than a commenter.

    What a coincidence–your dog & my cats, all superior species. 😀 (I have dogs, too–they’re relatively humble compared to the cats.)

  3. This one does look like the Pekin Duck to me. Quote: “The Pekin duck is a domesticated duck used primarily for egg and meat production. It was bred from the Mallard in China, it was brought to the United States about 1873, where it is the most popular commercial duck breed.”
    Your first one is the White Crested Duck. Quote: “The domestic Crested Duck is a duck breed descended from the Mallard. It has its appearance because it is heterozygous for a genetic mutation causing a deformity of the skull.”
    Hope this helps! It took me forever to find out what these Ducks where when I first spotted them in my local Northern NJ lakes a few years back. They, and other varieties are pretty common here.

  4. Diane G makes a very good point (same species, different breed) and vbellas39’s information is exactly what I knew of, so I think you guys have nailed this and don’t need anything more from me (not I have anything more – except to say “yep, two different individuals”). It does go to show that we humans love to categorize things primarily by colour and then size, so to us, these two “white duck things” are much the same. Genetically though two “almost identical” things can be nothing alike (except to the eye) and two “nothing alike” things can have almost the same DNA. It’s Mendel’s peas all over again!

  5. Nicely put… think Chihuahua vs. Great Dane or Grey-cheeked vs. Bicknell’s Thrush. In any event, very great conversation!