Addendum to “Two Birds…”

Ok, the other photo I wanted to attach to the previous post is here:

Image

This photo was shot, I believe the day before the other series (maybe two days).  I only took the picture because when I first saw this bird, I could only see the head through the weeds and the way it was munching on them, it resembled my baby Cardinals.  Well, that would be extremely unlikely because there should be no more baby Cardinals this time of year, so I grabbed my camera to document that thought.  Well, when I processed the one decent photo I got, I knew I was obviously not looking at a baby Cardinal.

While there is a chance that this is a totally different bird than the “large” one in the other photos, I am inclined to think it the same.

Either way, I would love to get everyone’s thoughts on it.

I apologize for the photo quality… I was shooting through a screened window.  I tried to adjust for this when processing, but it made little difference.

5 responses to “Addendum to “Two Birds…”

  1. Jenn….I believe this is an Indigo Bunting….a male. I hope they stay around so you can see them in their beautiful breeding plumage.

  2. Thanks Jo; I do too! I’m really excited for them to be here. If they do like the Painted Buntings (who fortunately do not change plumage ;)), they will make themselves a little more comfortable and a little more visible just a little at a time. Unfortunately I have not seen either bird since the photos were snapped, but they don’t call out to make their presence known like some of the other birds, so I may just be missing them.

    Ok, now that you’ve made the call on it, I can ask… what knocked out the possibility of it being a female Blue Grosbeak? That was what I had originally thought it to be, but It makes much more sense that out of nowhere a female Indigo Bunting would show up with a male Indigo Bunting than the other. I’m just wondering, so that when I finally get that grosbeak on the list, I’ll know what I may be looking for to exclude the other.
    (I know the guides go over things like that, but it isn’t the same as getting the thoughts from fellow birders, in my opinion.)

  3. The Blue Grosbeak is a bit larger than the Indigo….6.75 in to 5.5 in, respectfully….and as Sibley states, “similar to Indigo Buntings in all plumages but larger”. To me, the blue on the lower body and the lack of a rufous wing bar leads me to the Indigo. I think those rufous wing bars and the larger size are good ID features. I saw a Blue Grosbeak once, very briefly, while on a trip to AZ, but it was too far away for a picture. We’re planning a trip to that area next year….so, maybe, just maybe….birders are always hopeful….

  4. I saw a Blue Grosbeak on the 8th, so I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you! I believe this is an Indigo Bunting. The “indistinct wingbars” (actually, I think they’re very distinct, just not contrasting) the bill (size, slight bi-colouring, curved culmen) all say IB to me (with lots of Sibleying thrown in). I think the Indigo Bunting can look very like a Blue Grosbeak – it’s just that a Blue Grosbeak looks even more like one!!

  5. Woah… I totally missed that blue tinge on his lower body!

    Thanks, guys! You have been most helpful in this issue. I am planning to go out again tomorrow and word has it that grosbeaks have been spotted in the area, so I am keeping my fingers crossed on it.
    Meanwhile… happy dance for a pair of Indigo Buntings! 😀 May they and the Painted Bunting couples eat, drink, and be merry at my feeders!!!