Mystery Flock (Nov-Dec 2011)

This flock was a mystery to me until I saw them for about the 5th time and photo-enhanced the images to show they were actually Red-winged Blackbirds!  I was only used to seeing them in wet reeds (with males) and not furiously ripping open pine-cones in the tops of pine-trees well away from any water!

I’m guessing this might be what Jenn was talking about (and struggling to post images of) but I’m probably not going to be able to post this picture either am I?

Image

3 responses to “Mystery Flock (Nov-Dec 2011)

  1. Wow, are they versatile! (Obviously your pic shows. 🙂 )

  2. That’s them! How did you know that, DaLo?! I’m going to try one more time to re-post, but I believe it is a match.

  3. Your pictures are up and running now (at least on my screen) and certainly appear to be RWBBs to me.