News about JoSanz1217

If I may digress momentarily, while participating on Cornell’s former site, We Love Birds, I began a group called Florida’s birds.  JoSanz1217 was one of the active contributors.  When we discovered she spent several months a year about an hour from me and the rest in Nova Scotia, we make arrangements to meet.  Thus began a friendship.  We birded together, we emailed frequently while she was in NS, often about birds, but also about a thousand other topics.  Both Jo and  I looked forward to birding together when she arrived this past winter.  Something else co-opted all of her time from the time she arrived in Florida in early December – cancer.  I am sorry to say Jo passed in February.  Jo was a wonderful asset to our birding sites.  Here’s a photo of a Rufus Hummingbird that Jo took in Ash Canyon, Arizona.  She did love those Hummers.  I think it is appropriate to keep that Pileated Woodpecker Jo drew as one of the gravatars for this site.  I treasured our friendship and I know she did, too.   Thanks for letting me share this.   -SLB  

Rufous Hummingbird, Ash Canyon B&B, AZ, 4-13-08, No2274

Rufous Hummingbird, Ash Canyon B&B, AZ, 4-13-08, No2274

3 responses to “News about JoSanz1217

  1. Dear Shelley, thank you for sharing this story… I’ve said it before and I will say it again: I am very sorry for your (and our) loss. She will be missed.

  2. So very sorry to hear this. I remember her from We Love Birds!