Any ideas? Looks like a finch or a sparrow, but what species is it?

Hello All: Please take a look at the photo below, taken in the George C. Reifel Migratory Bird Sanctuary on Monday (March 25) in Delta, BC (south of Vancouver). Do any of you have any suggestions as to what species it is? I have no clue at this point and would like your input (although I will no doubt continue my investigation into the matter). Thanks!

Mystery Bird | Reifel Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

Mystery Bird | Reifel Bird Sanctuary | Delta, BC (Canada)

7 responses to “Any ideas? Looks like a finch or a sparrow, but what species is it?

  1. Lovely pic!

  2. I usually embarrass myself here. Gonna lurk on this one, I think. 😉

  3. Hey, Pierre! At first I was going to tell you that my first impression was a thrush of some sort, but the bill is wrong (unless that is a result of the angle of the shot). After flipping through the guide, I have to go with Fox Sparrow as the closest match.

  4. Gotta go with Fox Sparrow.