Aside

Do you know this bird? It prefers woodlands (Closed)

Do you know this bird? It prefers woodlands of higher elevation. Most members here have probably never seen one of these because it primarily a west coast bird. It usually ventures no farther east than the mountains of Colorado, but it is known to breed in much of Canada.

Image

Photo taken on 05/18/2013, near Los Angeles, California.

11 responses to “Do you know this bird? It prefers woodlands (Closed)

  1. Condiment-flanked dipteran-snatcher.

  2. Western Wood Pewee

  3. Hmm, bill looks heavy for a Wood-Pewee to me; but the tail does look rather long for the Condiment-flanked…

    • My guides are for the Eastern N. America and the US, so I rely on the internet for questions about other birds. Where can I find more information about the Condiment-flanked dipteran-snatcher?

  4. caracara0kid

    Good guesses all around. Would you like me to end the debate?

  5. I thought about the Olive-sided Flycatcher, but it does venture farther east. So, I am ready for the debate to be concluded.

  6. caracara0kid

    You’re right SLB, the Olive-sided Flycatcher does travel east, but in very few numbers. Are their any Florida records at all this year? In any case, this is an Olive-sided Flycatcher. Sorry if I tripped you up with the comment on location. I got a long look at this bird as it returned to the same branch after flycatching for 15 minutes.

  7. SLB, sorry, I was making a play on the Olive-sided’s name. (Dipteran = fly)
    caracaraokid, I got an OSFL this year in far SW Michigan, down by Lake Michigan. Last fall I had one on my property for about a week before it moved on. We only get them during migration, but they’re see-able in more areas then than some of the distribution maps would have you believe! Still rare enough to be a thrill to see, though.

  8. I have never seen an Olive-sided, but I just did some research (using the Florida and Pinellas County and eBird lists) as my guides also showed it very much outside of my area. The Olive-sided seems to be a frequent fall migrant in Florida, and is seen in my county (central Florida, west coast) on an infrequent basis, usually September. It has been reported around here, according to eBird, in the last couple years. I always take into consideration that not all birders take the time and effort to post to eBird. I don’t myself.