An interesting bird

Every now and then, a bird appears in an area that captures the attention of birders.  This is a stock photo of one such bird.  This bird is considered “accidental” in this county, appearing spring and/or summer, if at all.    I have not had the pleasure of seeing it myself, but I have been reading of daily sightings around Gulf Pier at Fort De Soto County Park, Pinellas County, FL.  What bird is this?  -SLB

Seen July, 2013, Fort De Soto County Park, Pinellas County, FL

Seen July, 2013, Fort De Soto County Park, Pinellas County, FL

6 responses to “An interesting bird

  1. Some kind of gannet?

  2. Wonderful. What kind?

  3. I’ll get back to you…

    😀 (I did strike out with a brief googling last night; will try again…)

  4. caracara0kid

    I hope I’m not spoiling anyones fun by IDing this one too soon. It’s a brown booby if I’m not mistaken. We had one hanging out in NJ for a while this summer. Very unusual.

  5. I looked in eBird about sightings, and I thought the locations were interesting compared to the guides. The big deal here is that the Brown Booby arrived July 18 and is still here, at the end of a pier, and likes to hang around on the tower there. Apparently, the Brown Boobies are like Gannets, staying at least a mile from shore when they are sighted, if at all. I would hope to see it, but don’t know if I will get out there, and if it might show up for me if it is still around the pier.

  6. You Floridians get such cool stuff! 😀