Blogging

I have been so lax in sharing on this blog .  How is the bird population in your area?  Most of the birds here in Central West Coast Florida (they refer to this area as the Suncoast) are smart enough to escape the oppressive heat and humidity and fly elsewhere.  Many of the “Seabirds” like the Brown Pelicans, Egrets, N. Mockingbirds are here year round.  There are some Terns, and many migrating shorebirds, like Red Knots are returning.  “What Bird is This?” is now “The Birders Blog.”  Tell us what birds are in your area now or year round.  

I just haven’t been birding as often.  I used to cover a few miles around here on foot, walking with the dog, mostly.  Now he is fifteen, diagnosed with a serious heart murmur, and we don’t walk as far.  Birding involves day long trips, and is logistically difficult nowadays.  I am depending on some input here from some followers

I did find a Snowy Egret, Great Egret, and Roseate Spoonbill in a small pond created by the May rains.  I was surprised to discover the Roseate Spoonbill was banded, and disappointed to discover I could not read the band.  Nevertheless, I hope to find out where to send the pics and see what info can be found from them.

Banded Roseate Spoonbill May, 2014 Quarter mile from Boca Ciega Bay in Florida

Banded Roseate Spoonbill
May, 2014
Quarter mile from Boca Ciega Bay in Florida

-SLB

Comments are closed.